This is gonna sound really cheesy, but thank you for raising me the way you did. I also want to say, as much as I DREAD admitting it, you were right. You were right about that friend who turned out to not be a true friend. You were right about not going to that event because the roads were too slippery and I could have been hurt. You were right about forcing me to practice endless hours of piano because I did’t see it then, but it is one of my passions now. You were right about working hard in school because as a result, I am a straight A student. You were right about a lot of things that I argued with you about at the time. Because sometimes I don’t understand why; why can’t I do this or have that or go here. I didn’t understand that you have ALWAYS had my best intentions in mind, and nothing less. There were many times that I got angry (and there will probably be many more) because I thought you were wrong.

I realize now that you were right. (oh my gosh I’m so cliche.)

I definitely do not say this enough, but I sure lucked out getting you guys as parents. I’m lucky to have parents who care about everything I do. Who invest their time, effort, emotions, and opinions in every aspect of my life, no matter how small. Who support me in every decision I make. I’m lucky that you were both around, together, to see me grow, and challenge myself, and make mistakes, and not only did you see me do it but you went through it with me. Not everyone is fortunate enough to say the same, and I take that for granted wayyy too often.

Sometimes I see someone doing something, or hear somebody say something and think dear GOD I’m glad my parents raised me the way they did. You guys made me who I am today, and I should thank you every second for that. You taught me right from wrong, and reinforced it many times. You taught me how to be a leader and how to push myself to be better. You taught me how to be kind, and how to care for others. You taught me discipline. You taught me balance. You taught me how to handle tough situations with grace.

It’s not just the lessons you taught me that I am thankful for. I am thankful for how much fun we have had as a family growing up. I love coming home from school knowing that our house is truly a home, and that is because of you guys. Not everybody gets to share family inside jokes, or have sit down dinners altogether, or laugh at each others weird habits. The closeness of our family is something I do not ever want to lose.

I’m grateful to know that you will be there for me every step of the way as I continue my journey on life’s bumpy path. I’m thankful to be able to call you for anything from advice, to telling you a funny story, to sharing an accomplishment, to just talking. I’m excited to have parents that I will be able to share exciting things with in the future. And even though we will continue to have our ups and downs, I promise that I will always do my best to make you proud, and remember everything you have taught me.

I was truly blessed to get stuck with you guys as parents. Thank you for everything you have ever done, and ever will do for me. I love you bunches.

Leave a Reply

